Warm bellies, full hearts (aka we have it good)

     ImageRight now I am sitting next to a heater in a warm apartment gazing out a window that would have a view of the space needle if another apartment weren’t in front of it. My belly is full just to the brink of being uncomfortable and I am listening to the sounds of planes passing through the air.

     My morning was spent giggling and lounging around; planning my day and gazing through the window at the clear blue sky. There was no rush to be anywhere and even though my final paper is due this week I felt no pressure to work on it. Today is Sunday, the day of rest and I planned to spend it with those I love. Today was also the first day of J and I’s cooking adventure. We have committed ourselves to eating healthier and I am committed to learning how to cook. 

     Enter Cosmic Cashew Kale and Chickpeas with Confetti Quinoa. The moment I saw the photo on FatFree Vegan Kitchen I knew it was something I had to try. Surprisingly J chose this recipe too. It was settled. To make this Sunday meal even more special J decided to treat me and his group-on coupon to a spending spree at Whole Foods Market. 

     If I had to choose a phrase for Whole Foods it would be this: astonishingly overwhelming. While J grazed the cheese section I cruised the produce admiring the crimson red of the bell peppers and the sweet smell of citrus that floated in the breeze. We don’t have a Whole Foods in Oly so this was a special treat.

     Honestly if we did have a Whole Foods I don’t think I would shop there much. I love our local co-op and admire the hard working farmers in our community. Plus the co-op is cheaper and all of the money goes back to the people who live here (one of the benefits of buying local). 

     That said, I admit to gasping at the range of flavors of non-dairy ice cream in the frozen foods section and did buy a pint of dairy free egg nog for the holidays. When our shopping was done we had everything on our list and then some.

     The cooking part was fast and efficient (one of the benefits of having four hands instead of two) and before we knew it we were enjoying a decadent, delicious, high protein feast in the comforts of J’s own home.

     As I was doing the dishes after dinner I remembered something that J said this morning while we were planning our day. He looked at me and said “I have it good.” I have to admit that I feel the same way. Good food, good friends, and a full stomach on a Sunday night is an excellent reminder of how good we really have it. 

     I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did. This meal could easily serve four so invite friends if you like. I packed the extras in two cute apple shaped tupperware containers that I found while shopping today. This way J and I will both have something to bring to work tomorrow without the morning rush.  

Photo and recipe by Susan Voisin of FatFree Vegan Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

