Greetings From Another Planet

Dear friends,

It’s been a long time since I’ve updated but things have also changed quite a bit. In a span of months, I have temporarily moved across the country not once but twice. Luckily, I moved to the same place and have gradually come to know (and love) something that was once very foreign to me.

Washington D.C. is a place unlike any other. It is steeped in history and rich with culture. Every brick has a secret, a message told a thousand times but still left unturned. It is a place of endless and unfathomable knowledge; a place where you literally rub elbows with some of the greatest leaders in the world.

I love D.C. because it is like a dictionary and a fairy tale at the same time. You never stop learning and everything is possible. If you work hard, and make the right connections, anything can happen. The power to achieve great things is in your hands; how you use it is up to you.

D.C. is also exhausting, both physically and mentally. So much knowledge calls for a ton of responsibility and only the biggest, best, and brightest shine here.

People in D.C. are also remarkably fit. Running, walking, biking, cross-fit, you name it, they do it. Mix that with a shell of nerves, and a schedule that keeps you moving, and you have your basic D.C. body type (lean and ‘mean’).

One of the things that I most admire about people in D.C. is their ability to maintain a healthy lifestyle while being so productive. How they find the time to work 12 hour shifts and still create home cooked meals and head to the gym is beyond me.

One of my goals while I am here is to be like these people. There has never been a better opportunity to practice healthy living then when I feel like I don’t have the time.

My goal for this month is to create a master list of things I want/need to get done and to accomplish these while working a full time schedule and making time for exercise. I will post status updates regularly. For now I’ve gotta run.

Stay tuned …..

Leave a Reply

